The Urge

September 25, 2009

What is it about books that drives me nuts? The whole process begins with someone dropping a recco, looking it up on Shelfari, GoodReads, Biblio.com, eyeballing all the reviews,  and giving me a high which I fear is more than the one from reading the book itself. My “I plan to read” list keeps getting longer and longer with no end in sight. I wonder if I will live long enough to read the “1001 books you must read before you die“. Will I be a bhatakti aatma, if I run out of time? No wonder, I dread a new recco!

Nonetheless, I love it when someone suggests a book. Talk about contradicting myself. You see, I have no choice in the matter. Unknown forces compel helpless poor me to look up the book, read reviews, add to my list if the forces find it worthy. Once I am done reading, I find myself frantically reviewing the book. If reading books weren’t enough already, the manic forces are now hounding me to look for audio books!

Thus I find myself with no way out but to admit – I am just a simple one celled bacteria puppet manipulated by some whacked out bookworm! If you hear a weak cry for help, you will know it is the poor bacteria being contorted out of shape!!

Very Important PS: If you have any book reccos, please drop in a line in the comment section. Open to all genres, even kiddies. And needless to say audio books too – Regards, the Puppeteer.

14 Responses to “The Urge”

  1. ajcl said

    totally relate to this coz i suffer from this syndrome too..
    have u read Tuesdays with Morrie? reading it currently and loving it

    Savi told me about it … Thought ll keep that in my to read list for now!

  2. AJCL is right … that is the first book I read after I landed in the US…. probably because Mitch Albom is a local author of MI … his next book – The Five People You Meet In Heaven is terrific too .(it was made into a movie I believe) .. I have had the good luck to see him in person … he is a sports author for the Free Press … I digress …if you are in the mood..one of my favs is From Heaven Lake: Travels Through Sinkiang and Tibet” by Vikram Seth … I remember that when I had read this book for the first time, it was a borrowed copy from the library … and then when I finished .. I rushed out and bought my own copy from Higgin Bothams on Mount Road… sorry to hog the space … I think I want to do a post on some of my fav reads .. thanks for the wonderful post.

    I loved Vikram Seth’s “A Suitable Boy” and I am going to keep an eye out for “From the Heaven Lake”too … As for Mitch Albom’s, I have had an amazing number of people reccomending Tuesdays with Morrie .. Looked up the Five People You meet in Heaven and it sounds really interesting! Thank you so much!! And you met Mitch in real? Wow!!

  3. Savitha said

    🙂 We’ll talk over Shelfari……Steal each other’s books 😉

    Sounds like a good past time, Savi!! Books are the new coffee! 🙂

  4. so true………………………… 😛

    on the other hand, I never look for review of a book before I read it 😛 so I go in without a biased approach 😛

    maybe I suggest an author called “leslie charteris”…….

    his books are not in edition now, but he is the God who created the character called “Simon Templer”….. alais “the Saint”…………

    you will get them on amazon………. Saint is a char who is james bond/rajnikant mixed togerher………….

    Your idea of not going by the reviews is a good one but for different reasons – setting the wrong expectations! Thank you for a great recco .. Bond and Rajnikanth mix sounds interesting!! 🙂

  5. Ramesh said

    Let me recommend a book. Actually something better than a book. Something that’ll get you hooked onto reading. Whether you are single celled or whatever, the bookworm will get you. You just have to read this. You’ll go crazy if you can’t. And you’ll walk with a smile on your face and a spring in your step when you do
    Click here for an unbelievable reading experience.

    Arent you the sweetest!! 😀 Thanks Ramesh …!! 🙂

  6. theishu said

    Dont worry about not being able to make it through the list of 1001.

    “Life is too big for any one person to live through it all. It’s only through books that you can scale peaks, explore worlds, meet people and have adventures – all without having to leave your own home and the comfort of your fireplace”

    Incidentally, this quote is from the book I finished yesterday.

    Haven’t written about it yet. Why don’t you come over and take a look, since you love book reviews so much? You know where to find them 🙂

    Thats a nice quote Theishu! Yes, I already checked out your bookshelf and will keep that in mind for future reading! 🙂

  7. devi said

    Paulo coelho’s Achemist, Brida, Eleven minutes,Veronika decides to die, etc

Leave a Reply

