Telling Tall Tales …

August 13, 2009

As I have mentioned in several posts earlier, my little sister is the living doll that I had always wanted. She played her part pretty well too. Every little thing I told her, she took it to be God’s truth. Well, being the affectionate older sister that I am, she didn’t any other choice.

Sometime in the X’mas hols of my ninth year in this world, our family friends dropped in for a few days. They had kids our age and days were filled with making merry. As is the custom in Kochi, holidays with kids are spent in Children’s Park. It was the amusement park of the 80’s. Show animals, gigantic globe that can be turned if all of us put our might together, rides, swimming pool, chaat guys, ice cream,Β cars/scooters that you can drive, Β and even a traffc policeman!! The guests and us had a rollicking time doing all the stuff that kids do – letting our hair down and going nuts! Soon enough, it was getting dark and parents started herding us all back in. That is when I saw the bookseller with the latest children’s magazine! I got my dad to buy the book. I couldn’t wait till I reach home – no sireee, I had to read the book as I walked to the exit.

Suddenly I was gasping for air. Why, what ehh ?? Why the hell am I wet? Because the dummy was too engrossed in the book to realise that she is stepping into a fountain! Luckily the traffic policeman, pulled me out of the water. I don’t think I have to tell you what shade of beetroot I went. My folks quickly rushed me home. As mom was helping me dry off, my poor little sister, came in all concern writ over her sweet face. “Are you okay, did you get hurt?” By now I have had enough being embarassed at my stupidity. I thought some bravado should help me get back to normal.

So this is what I said, ” You should thank God that I am here, you know. When I fell, an alligator dragged me down and I thought I will be her dinner! Lucky for me traffic policeman uncle was nearby!” I can still picture my sister’s eyes going wide and round. And my dear mom, she got to add another story to the Book of Cookie’s Quirkiness!! πŸ˜‰

A couple days back, my hands were itching to draw a potrait. So here is my little sister when she was 3 years old. When I sent her a mail asking her to guess who the picture is of – she replied it is of her drawn by me when I was in primary school!! Β πŸ˜€

P1000942

10 Responses to “Telling Tall Tales …”

  1. The alligator was sans teeth to have caused no damage when it dragged you down …. sweet and innocent shade of nostalgic memories …!!

    Uh no, if I remember right, it was the same one from Lake Placid! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the comment – despite being so busy with the move and all.

  2. Sachin said

    So is the story you told me about the tiger not true too ? πŸ˜€

    I would never tell tall tales to you! Of course it is true!! ;-P

  3. Ramesh said

    You know, actually the alligator pulled me into the fountain before the policeman could save me. Down and down I went. Suddenly the alligator turned into a fairy. She said – don’t be afraid. I’m taking you to a very nice place. Far far away. Its called America. There you’ll meet a charming prince called Sachin and you both will live happily ever after. And that’s what really happened you know ….

    What a sweet story, Ramesh. Now I am going to pretend that it is how it all had happened! πŸ™‚

  4. Savitha said

    Ha,ha,what a lovely sister you are!!Alligator!!I couldn’t stop laughing….thanks for brightening my morning with laughter!!

    Good morning, Savitha! Wishing you a wonderful day today! And thanks for your sweet comment! πŸ™‚

  5. Shivya said

    So cute! Wow, you have rather vivid memories of your childhood. Most of mine are really blurry :O

    This one stands out like a sore thumb – you can imagine how embarassed I must have been at all the chuckles I heard around me. πŸ™‚ Some of them are not so bad either – they are what I think of when I need a laugh! πŸ™‚

  6. ROFL!!!!!!!!! what a story………. πŸ˜›
    did the alligator attack you or did you attack it πŸ˜€

    yes, childrens park was my fav as well….. used to do a lot of wicked driving in those roads πŸ˜› hehehehe

    you draw well…………. πŸ˜›

    Like Ramesh said above, alligator turned into a fairy and brought me here! πŸ˜‰ You were probably one of the bad boys who drove the jeep!;-) I loved the scooter better!
    As for my drawing – I wasn’t this bad. Rusty and out of practice.

  7. ajcl said

    :)heartwarming..

    Thankieee!! πŸ™‚

  8. Dr Narayan Nayak said

    Dear
    It is nice recollection.
    The thought of the alligator, may have arisen out of the usual cautioning of children lest they should venture into the water. Subconsciously this warning continues into adulthood leaving a fright for water.
    More into the episode, seing you limping with pain we had Sachi uncle(ortho surgeon) to see you X-Rayed and there was a hair line fracture in your thigh bone.
    You were forced to be on the bed for 6 weeks. With all the bedrooms and bathrooms in the first floor, you would never lie alone in the bed, when amma was busy in the kitchen downstairs.You would lie down in the drawing room in the sofa and amma had to lift you frequntly to the bath upstairs, I ,being very busy in the hospital then, I really salute her patience and hard work for the family.
    I must appreciate Ramesh’s exterpolation of the incident into a nice Children story,Aesop in the making!!!!!

    Thank you Appa for the nice comment. I don’t remember too much of being in bed for 6 weeks, but I can imagine how poor Amma must have had a terrible time. πŸ™‚
    Ramesh definitely fits well as Aesop: wise and humorous! πŸ™‚

  9. Nancy said

    Awww…such a shweet picture!!!!!!!

    I so identify with tht tall stories part of u….I remember I used to tell all my friends tht my sister was actually my niece;-P
    Simply bcoz my sis used to call me[still does] chachi instead of chechi. so once I found out tht chachi in hindi was aunty, my imagination took over πŸ˜€

    Loved reading ur father’s perspective on the story too πŸ™‚

    LOL!! Hee hee … I am in splits over your tall stories! πŸ˜‰ Thanks so much !!! I have missed you so much!

  10. theishu said

    Your sis’ reply was priceless indeed πŸ˜›

    Nice template, btw πŸ™‚

    Thanks Theishu! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

