10 Items Or Less ..

July 22, 2009

Love Morgan Freeman? I did after watching this endearing movie called Ten Items or Less. Freeman plays a well known aging actor who hasn’t taken on a project for the past four years for lack of good scripts. He comes to a poor Latin neighbourhood to research on a role that he is considering. He meets Β a fiery young Spanish “10 items or less” cashier and is quiet taken by her attitude. She on the other hand wants him off her back. Due to unfortunate events, the young lady is stuck with this guy for the rest of the day. Β End of the day, she is no longer pissed, rather cherishes her one day with the goofy old man.

The movie takes a microscopic look at how people connect. And amazing as it may be, our lives can change drastically after spending sometime (or maybe no time) with someone we hardly know. I can imagine a situation where I pour out my joys/troubles to a dear friend but it is a random stranger who happened to Β hear it it all who offers a fresh perspective. As filmy as the thought may sound but the logic is that the uninvolved folks are objective and can immediately spot whatever is amiss. Morgan Freeman is at his charming best in the movie – watch out for the scenes where he imitates people doing their jobs – its spectacular! And the ones where he charms the ladies! πŸ™‚

Here is a clip showing a beautiful sing along between the actor and the shop girl. The actor attempts Β at settling the cashier’s nerves on her upcoming job interview is what leads to this “smile puller”.

Video is bad as is the singing Β but the human emotion shines through it all – dont you think? πŸ™‚

PS: Those who enjoy the hit sitcom Big Bang Theory are in for a little treat towards the end of the movie. πŸ™‚ Those of you who know what I am talking about – please don’t do a spoiler here!

15 Responses to “10 Items Or Less ..”

  1. Sachin said

    We definitely are the most complex creatures in the universe .. I am looking forward to seeing the movie ..

  2. Ramesh said

    Thanks for the tip – shall see the movie now. Have to buy a fake DVD on the footpath – sorry Morgan; have no other way to see an English movie here.

    The charmer that Morgan is, he will understand. πŸ™‚
    TFT

  3. le embrouille blogueur said

    Me a Morgan fan as well … but not in a role like this one … but I am glad you liked it … his ability to do well in anything of course is amazing !! ….interesting review !!


    It would have been a drag if this movie dint have a presence like his. Especially because it has almost no background score, it is entirely on the actors to make it good.
    TFT

  4. ajcl said

    nice review cookie.. wants me to go watch the movie, despite the fact that im no movie buff and have to be dragged to watch one..

    Appu, I know how you hate long movies. But this one will be right up your alley, it is over before you even start watching it! πŸ˜‰
    TFT

  5. adesh sidhu said

    I also loved this movie. The reason is same as yours – connect between two people is amazing.

    It was something isnt it? Glad you liked it too. πŸ™‚
    TFT

  6. Prabodh said

    I am looking forward for this movie ….I am going to watch it in this weekend of sure…I like freeman…but above that I love Paz Vega(I was complete crush on her after seeing Spanglish..if you have not watched it do watch ..it is really a nice movie)
    Ashwini tnks for this movie, let me know more in your list of such cool movie….

    *Info :
    10 Items or Less was the first film in history to be legally released for download through the internet while it was still in theaters.(So at least this time I will not feel guilty for downloading the torrent :p)

    Thnks for the movie…
    Prabodh(Movie Freak)

    Spanglish, sounds real interesting. Interesting movie trivia too. Thanks so much. πŸ™‚
    TFT

  7. Sunita said

    Thanks for dropping by.

    The movie’s on my list now πŸ™‚

    Hi Sunita, welcome to my blog. πŸ™‚
    TFT

  8. Sunita said

    Oh you know what I have actually seen this movie but I think I hadn’t seen the begining of it so couldnt get it at first when you described it.

    It is a good movie πŸ™‚

    Cool!! πŸ™‚ I saw it again after I wrote about it. It is so cute. πŸ™‚
    TFT

  9. ~uh~β„’ said

    I have not seen this movie, but I love Morgan Freeman.Thanks for writing on it.
    Have you seen Bucket List ( with Jack Nicholson ) ?
    Cheers!

    No I havent, but thats what I will see next. Thanks for recommending. πŸ™‚
    TFT

  10. Spanglish is a must watch if you like Adam Sandler … and (ahem) ..Leoni …. my fav Freeman movie is Seven ….will the genius with the lens(Sachin) be kind enough to post his opinions on my latest post …??

    My Google Reader dint show up with your new post! “Genius” doesnt have a headset at work, so he ll comment in the evening. I am heading over to your blog to comment. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the movie recco… I will queue it up.
    TFT

  11. Tastemaster said

    if you like Freeman, you ought to watch Bucket List.. you get to see something ‘truly magnificient’ πŸ™‚

    So, I have been told. Thanks for the recco! πŸ™‚
    TFT

  12. J D said

    i’ve seen the movie and liked it.. nice post here

    Hi JD, welcome to my blog! Took a sneak peak at your Eclipse post. Interesting one! πŸ™‚
    TFT

  13. theishu said

    I’m a Freeman fan too. Didn’t know he was in this movie.

    Thanks for letting me know. This one’s on my queue now πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ The movie is good just because of what Morgan did and Paz’ saucy ways! Anybody else, it would have been one damp squib! A short trivia – he is the producer for this movie.

  14. theishu said

    Paz!! PAZ VEGA? Why didnt you say so? I’m watching this right away! πŸ˜€

    Oops! Oops! How did I forget that? πŸ™‚ Yes, she is a charmer no doubt!

  15. Kokonad said

    Well, Morgan Freeman was OK, but Paz Vega was phenomenal! Her role was complex and yet so commonplace… it was not a small town girl she was representing but in fact she was all womankind personified into one!
    I loved the song they play in the movie (while cleaning the car at the end I think) – by Kemo the Blaxican’s “La receta” That tune is very catchy!
    Nice review, TTT πŸ™‚

    Yeah Paz was at her best. I saw some of her other movies this week and realized her best is this one. I loved the last song seeing how Morgan does his car cleaner “role researching”. I am going to have to look up that song now! Thanks so much for your comments!

Leave a Reply

