Of Mother and Daughters…

June 25, 2009

Black and white Pictures, Images and Photos

As kids, we were at constant battles with our mother. If it were not for the unflappable nature of our dad, he too would have been in the eye of our storms. It was tough to infuriate him. Notes from teachers, fights with other kids, spending money excessively – Nada! Nothing would provoke him. But with our mother, who had a quite a juggling job at home, and with us always getting in the way, she would get all flustered. Not to mention the fights between my sister and I. As I was thinking about all those times, I was inspired to write the below lines.

Mother and Daughters


Battles, tantrums, hassles;

these were our early years.

Peaceful times were so rare

With the mother daughters trio.


Over studies, over clothes,

over friends, over playtime,

over no reason sometimes,

Battles became a way of a life.


Ages passed since, cant do without each other;

be it talks of future, recipes or idle chatter,

each of us took a step closer

to beΒ  more than mother daughter sister.


One of us took a baby step,

the other took a step forward

and a leap of faith by our mother

brought us all on to the same page.


Older, wiser and unscathed

out of the fires we have come

into the placidity of womanhood

leaving the turbulence far behind.

31 Responses to “Of Mother and Daughters…”

  1. Hang said

    Hi, I followed you here from the comment you left on my blog. I am a big layman when it comes to poems, but I like the lines you wrote. The pics of the food in your food blog look so inviting. I want to take a bite! πŸ™‚

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Hi Hang … Welcome to my blog.. Yeah I am just learning to put some lines together. As for the food in my food blog, you cant bite them coz they are semi solids!! πŸ˜€ Nice of you to visit and feel free to look around. πŸ™‚

  2. Savitha said

    Great Poem Ash!!I just loved it…And can identify ourselves with it!!Thanks for sharing…

  3. ajcl said

    ash- very lovely.. am so envious.. wish i could write like this..

  4. I am not in the least envious … if I had to write like this .. I had to think .. and that would be too much ….I am glad TFT can write like this and we can cherish it …. bravo !!

  5. manchitra said

    Your lines depicts how the bonding has become stronger over the years. Imagine a life without fights, tantrums and competitions.It would have been very dull. Now you are able to write about all this because you did all those things. Life is beautiful

    good poem

  6. thethoughtfultrain said

    Thank you LEB…. πŸ™‚

  7. Just call me 'A' said

    Nice poem Ash (ok, i’ve seen people here call you ash, so I’m assuming that’s your name :))
    your poem reminds me of a song by a Belgian musical band, Vaya con dios. It’s a little long…but leaving you with this…..

    She thinks she knows you
    She thinks she owns you
    She wants everything to be
    The way she told you
    Of course she loves you
    Worries about you
    She’ll smother you ’till you’re chokin’

    Tell me, don’t you
    Say Mama, tell me why
    Has pleasure got to rhyme with sacrifice?

    You had your ways
    I have mine
    Your little girls a woman
    Don’t you realize?
    Of course she loves you
    She adores you
    She’ll smother you ’till you’re chokin’
    Tell me, don’t you?

    She’ll try to cage you
    She’ll enrage you
    Walking ’round your life
    Deciding for you
    Sometimes she’ll praise you
    Sometimes she’ll scorn you
    Her dreams from yesterday
    Could have destroyed you

    Now Mama, tell me why?
    Has pleasure got to rhyme with sacrifice?

    You had your days
    I have mine
    Your little girl’s a woman now …
    For quite some time

  8. Just call me 'A' said

    hey…i suddenly realized that none of my comments get posted. do you get them ???….i have commented on your last 4-5 post for the past many days but can’t see any. i wonder why.

    I just left you a nice song too for this post…it did not go thu.
    hope you get this.

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Hey A, thanks so much for this song!! Its really lovely. I am so sorry you got spammed, I don’t know how it happened though. After you mailed, I saw that I had 11 spams and when I checked, your comments were all in there. I am gonna have a field day replying to all your comments today! πŸ™‚

  9. This is how my sister me n my mom were πŸ™‚ Beautiful tribute!

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Thanks so much Winnie … I am honored by your visit and your lovely words have just made my day!! πŸ™‚

  10. Ramesh said

    Nice one thoughtful train. The beauty of a poem is not just the words, but the thoughts they express. Lovely expression in this one.

    A – Thanks for the Belgian group’s song. Very nice too.

  11. thethoughtfultrain said

    Thank you so much Ramesh! I loved writing this one. πŸ™‚

  12. nissh said

    woh…my frien cud do such a gud job wid words… lovely i mus say, but uve gota book the tickets for me to get back home mommmieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee:)

  13. theishu said

    Interesting, because it’s not too often you come across stuff written from this particular viewpoint.

    Made me introspect a bit, reminiscing my own childhood memories. Good one!

  14. Solilo said

    Ashwini, That’s beautiful and so very true. I have been there and now we are best friends. With each stage the relationship changes.

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Thanks so much Solilo… The early battles have mellowed all of us down and now we just cannot bear a day passing by without a phone call.. πŸ™‚

  15. You have been awarded by me …. and yes ..love the new look of your blog !!

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      LEB thankoooooooooo!!! I ate the cake first before thanking you. πŸ˜€ I am glad someone noticed my new makeover!! Thanks again. πŸ™‚

  16. Love your blog and when you are a mum you will know… forgive me if I am on the wrong tract…
    Hugs Carole x “a mum of two dautghters and friends”

  17. thethoughtfultrain said

    Hi Carol! Welcome to my blog. Yes I know I will be wiser when I become a mum. Had a peak into your blog and you write so beautifully!!

  18. thethoughtfultrain said

    Oops spelt your name wrong, sorry Carole!!

  19. I could sooooo relate to what you have written….things are indeed a lot different now….and I am thankful to her for everything I am today…

  20. thethoughtfultrain said

    Yeah, things are lovely now! Glad you liked it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

