A Hobby To Remember You By …

June 17, 2009

So far away, oceans apart. Yet, I hear the faint hum of conversation happening at a certain place in Cochin. My sweet liltte sister, A is getting married tomorrow and right now, the wedding eve celebrations are on.ย  I can see it in my mind’s eye, A decked up and all aglow, greeting her visitors with that lovely smile of hers. A‘s mom M, the emotional one, looking on proud, happy and beautiful herself. A‘s dad R, his heart swelling with pride and joy, welcoming the guests. The goofy brother, Ash, the silent spectator who will reprise all the events at a later date with his own twist added. ๐Ÿ™‚

Then the other aunts and cousins (all of us feel that we have 6 moms and 9 siblings ;-)) would be hovering around, ensuring things go smoothly for the family mentioned above. And me? I am oceans away, I told you. With the noises I long to hear faintly buzzing in my ear. I have been accused of being too dry eyed in the past. If they see me now …

It feels heart wrenching to be away from A‘s wedding. She was the dollย  who listened to me unlike the doll I mentioned in a previous post. ๐Ÿ˜‰ A is 5 years younger than me, she calls me Cookie-akka ( my other doll fondly calls me monkey! ) We had a secret game called Hobby. I can’t recollect why it was so called but it is our fondest game.ย  A will smile whenever I talk about this game. Both of us were pretty girly as kids (unlike the original doll, who is a tomcat!) I would pretend to be the mommy and A would be my school going child. It is pretty simple – I open imaginary cupboards and lay out imaginary clothes for the real child to wear. I had great fun in describing aloud what A is going to wear – sometimes it will be a cream blouse with a red pinafore, flower hats and cream shoes, or it maybe the blue jeans with ruffled top, satin ribbons in her hair and so on. A was a model playmate – obedient and above all quiet! No brawls, no torn clothes, noย  broken teeth – just 2 sweet girls playing quietly in the corner. We were any parent’s dream, even if I say so myself. ๐Ÿ™‚ There was nothing adventurous about our game, but we were so happy playing it. Like the comfort of bedroom slippers – furry, warm and comfortable.

And to think it is this girl’s cherished moment that I am missing makes me weep – the one who has been through all of mine. With her sweet smile and cute chatter, she has been right there at all her older sisters’ side. Dear A, I know you will see this in a week or two. I want you to know, that I was thinking of you the whole time and wishing like crazy for a magic carpet! Congratulations on finding your soul mate. I pray for your happiness. Wishing you and V hours, days, years and lifetimes filled with joy, health and wealth.

( PS: I was really feeling low before I was writing this. Asย  I was writing, couldn’t stop the waterworks. It took me 3 hours to write but now that I am done, I am much better. My parent’s phone-call helped too. They realised I would be a mess and so called, sent photos, told me every little detail and joked about a few things. Well, what can I say – I am alright now! )

13 Responses to “A Hobby To Remember You By …”

  1. It is not everyone who has the privelege to early life experiences and a “to be missed” thoughts …..wish “A” luck and hope you do not have to dry towels every time you work on a post ….lol (jut kidding) ….nice, real post !! Good Stuff.

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Hi LEB, thanks for the sweet words. Trust me, I am feeling a lot better already. LOL at your dry towels comment ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope so too. Now I am coming over to yours.

  2. Sachin said

    Wishing “A and V” the best ! Hope to see you guys soon.

  3. Ramesh said

    Hey touching post. A will read this and feel that you were there at her big day. And through your blog, a lot us will add our best wishes to A and V.

    Write a poem for them in the next post. The lovely words from the poet and some great snaps from the photographer would make “them” need some dry towels too.

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Thanks so much Ramesh! I am really touched by your sweet words. Because you asked, I wiil try to find the right words for the poem. I am sure A and V will want to thank you for your wishes once they read this, so I am thanking you on their behalf. And the “photographer” is also on cloud nine, (along with me) with all your praises. Don’t think we ll touch base anytime soon…

  4. Kelvy said

    awww, it feels bad to b away from family on such occassions na…but humm thats life, wat to do….but u can always view the photos and be glad that we can atleast see that and the video and all…u can also call her up later on and ask all the details…heheh

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Naughty girl Kel .. Yeah thanks to the photos, videos, and all getting couriered to me in a few days. That makes it tolerable … ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. manchitra said

    Just back fro A’s wedding. missed you a lot. A’s was radiant and was smiling through out. The “hom” brought tears to her eyes. But reading your lovely post has made me understand you more.you are simple and good at heart.

  6. thethoughtfultrain said

    Thanks so much Chitramausi. Appa and Amma showed me wedding pics on the same day. I agree A was looking all grown up and lovely. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Raju said

    Dear Cookie, I am moved by your thoughts expressed in those beautiful words. More so because I am the father of the bride ! But let us realise this is life… as Kelvy said. Thank God Technology has shrunk the world! Imagine such a scene twenty years back.We would not have been able to bear it. Do ruminate on nostalgia. But when emotion overpowers, get busy with work and activities. Otherwise we get depressed. Take care.

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Dear Appappa, Thanks so much for writing in, Yes thanks to the mighty Internet I got to see all the photos and all details the very same day. And your point to get busy with work and other activities when emotion over powers makes a lot of sense. Thanks so much!

  8. Ashita said

    Thanks Kukkyakka,know its a lil late bt still… Means so much :)love yu…

    Hey sweetheart, ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you too! ๐Ÿ™‚
    TFT

Leave a Reply

