Of Walks and Strange Events …

June 16, 2009

Most people find excuses not to exercise. Oh I have a headache, I m really tired, I will start from tomorrow and so on. Well none of that works for us. If your walking route is like a dream, what would stop you from going? Check it out. (All photos courtesy my sweetheart)

P1000799

This is the pond on our walking route. It is not the only one, there are two more such beauties. Sachin and I walk for two hours and this is where we catch up with each others thoughts, ideas, kid each other, run together and basically have fun. These are the best two hours of my day.

We also meet this cute family who never fail to greet us as we walk past them. They see us off till we turn around the corner. Their little babies are a treat to watch, so playful and full of beans. Today we took the liberty of taking pictures of this lovely family so that I can show you guys how sweet they are. They were kind of shy though. They send their love for you all. πŸ™‚

P1000797

For those ofΒ  you looking out for human beings in the above photo, I was talking about the geese and their chicks. The chicks are really tiny fuzzballs and the geese are awfully camera shy!

Sachin also took a picture of the sky at its orange best. Here you go. (Can you believe this is at 8:30 pm?? We have daylight till almost 9:00 pm!)

P1000801

Remember how I said my walk is like a dream earlier? It reminded me of something that happened 6 years ago. At the time, I was going for multimedia classes. Everyday I would walk down a little lane and turn leftΒ  to the bus stop to catch the bus that goes to the computer center. One day as usual I turned, but I reached London! Yes, you got that right, I said London. Boy, was I upset? Meant to go for class and here I am in a different country altogether! I find a phone booth, call my folks and tell them what happened. They show no surprise though, as though I have told them I am going to the market and they neednt bother to pick me up types! They tell me – no problem dear, just call your Peethukka (yes, the very same one that I spoke about here) I do the needful. She is very happy and said she will pick me up after work. Waiting for her I walk around, taking in the place and I see this beautiful pond. The whole feel of the place is still fresh in my mind. Overcast rain bearing clouds, a cool breeze, still waters, lush greenery. As I admire the beauty of it all, I hear a noise behind me. It was a guy. He asks me whether I am new to the place. I tell him yes. The he tells me I will show you around and grabs hold of my hand before I could get a word in! Claaaang! (The curtain rod fell, I swear I am not making it up!)Β  I wake up with a start and my heart thudding madly! Thank God – it was just a dream!! πŸ˜€ What did you think it was? Anyways it was a couple months after this dream that I met my love. Amma still teases me about how my dream was a sign of things to come!

On that note I sign off for today! Have a great time folks!

19 Responses to “Of Walks and Strange Events …”

  1. Sachin said

    Amazing photos .. I wonder who is the genius who clicked those … πŸ™‚

  2. manchitra said

    I think i am the the first one to read your posts everyday and i am enjoying too.

    nice pictures.I was really searching for the babies

    we too enjoy our walks and we talk about all the things under the sun but finding it difficult to go regularly as it becomes dark v. fast. difficult for appappa.

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Thanks for looking for my posts Chitramausi .. Yeah the chicks are really tiny and brown colour too, so difficult to get them on the camera. But its a sight to see them, waddling all over the place.

  3. Amitha said

    Reading the blog has made me feel as though I’ve taken a walk in that route… Thanx to ur selection of words… A walk to remember ( tht will b the movie!!!) sachin, the snaps are just awesome but yeah u shud never b greedy… πŸ˜€

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Thanks Pinks!! I am glad you felt as though you feel like you took a walk! The geese were yelling out your name so loud,did I tell you that? They were looking for you in the water – they know you ll be in there looking for some fish!

  4. Kelvy said

    wow, thats a wonderful place to walk, so beautiful, serene, pictursome…humm no wonder u enjoy walking… I do not excersice at all and i just hate walking out in the crowded street with all the cars and honking and now to top it all, its extremely hot due to which walking outside is impossible and along with that its dusty too…

    Lucky that u guys have such a good atmosphere to walk and time to enjoy too πŸ™‚

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      Hi Kel, Thanks for stiopping by. Yes, I hate wakking on crowded roads with all the noise from the honking and all.. But we still walked then and it was fun in a way too. But the walks now are more enjoyable, πŸ™‚

  5. Bhavana said

    beautiful neighborhood – I love walking as well. thanks for stopping by – nice to have met you πŸ™‚

  6. If I was a girl .. I would go ….”awwww”….since I am not .. I will say … “glad that one worked out for you”…..nicely put …”London effect”….I have a lot of work to do …like catching up on all your posts …and leave the pug marks….lol !!

  7. thethoughtfultrain said

    Go ahead leave a trail … I am gonna go through yours too! I think the girl in you isnt all that hidden since you know what to say πŸ˜‰

  8. hahaha….an “i” for an “u” ….glad to be of help… !!

  9. Ramesh said

    Wow. Superb photos and a nice write up. You really walk two hours a day ?? Wow .

    Well, I didn’t know dreams come true in real life and am delighted it did for you ! Did the guy in your dream who caught your hand take lovely photos too πŸ™‚

  10. thethoughtfultrain said

    I dint get to know the guy too well, you know, that’s when the curtain rod came clanging down. πŸ™‚ Yes we do go for 2 hour walks and it goes by too soon. πŸ™‚

  11. Nancy said

    U walk for 2 hours……….wow thts really good. Wish I could….coz the weather doesn’t permit here :-S

    And the pictures are beautiful…esp the 1st one πŸ™‚

  12. thethoughtfultrain said

    Yes, we do!! Both of us love going for walks and our walking route is amazing too. We never tire seeing the same things over and again. Yesterday the Geese family were ” moving” (cant find the right word!) on the pond with mommy and daddy in the front and back and all the goslings in the middle. I dint have my camera at that time … Darn!!!

  13. […] in Nature, Photography, Random Thoughts. Leave a Comment Most of you would know how I love my long walks. I love it so much that I get cranky if the weather plays foul. Last evening the clouds began to […]

Leave a Reply

