Who Moved My Aunt ?

June 11, 2009

At the risk of making me sound like a complete idiot, I wish to recount another “incident” which happened when I was about 12 years old. (Yes, amusing people gives me great joy! )

We had a sturdy white Ambassador car then. One day my parents, sis P, aunt B, her baby and I were going someplace in Kochi. On the way, we stopped to get some stuffs from the bakery.  So all of us except Aunt B and baby got out of the car and headed to the bakery. After buying loads of stuff, mom told me to take it to the car and wait with Aunt B. So off I went, struggling to hold all the plastic covers. I open the door and get in. Pushing her, I tell my aunt, “dhoor sar” (Move to the side – in Konkani) She doesn’t budge a bit. I tell her please move, so  that here will be enough place to keep all the packets. To this, she responds by giggling. This is not nice Aunt B – oh no! I look up to tick her off and I see a total stranger sitting there! I was wondering where Aunt B went and what is this lady doing in our car when the kindly lady (suppressing her giggles!) says in Malayalam “Molle … idu nammude caara. Taniku caar maari poyi.” (Dear, This is our car. You have gotten into the wrong car!) I was so horrified! To think I was pushing a lady out of her own car and talking in a strange language on top of everything else – what would she have thought? I start apologizing but the dear lady brushes away all my apologies and sends me on my way, after all I was just a child. So red faced, grabbing all the covers again I flee back to my car (The lady kept looking to ensure I dont get in the wrong car again). My folks, by then, figured what had happened. I was the butt of jokes for that day and never heard the end of it yet. By God’s grace, I am now totally desensitized. 🙂

Well, hope you had a laugh too. Like I said, I am desensitized, so the joke is no longer on me. 🙂 Go ahead, you can laugh all you want, no one is stopping you, least of all me! 😀

11 Responses to “Who Moved My Aunt ?”

  1. bloggingmyspot said

    Don’t believe this lady when she says ‘desensitive’, coz shez not. But its true she still has not heard the end of it and she turns red everytime we pull her leg on this one and many more of her blunderful tales…. 🙂

    P

  2. bloggingmyspot said

    so everybody is welcome to take a shot!!!

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      hmm … my own sis hands me out! She is still baby though, has no clue what desensitize means … 😉

  3. Ramesh said

    Hey this isn’t unusual – something like this has happened to most of us sometime or the other. So no laughing despite “desensitisation”.

    More of the “blunderful tales” please P !!:)

  4. thethoughtfultrain said

    More “blunderful” tales coming up on demand!

  5. manchitra said

    waiting for more of your blundertainment

  6. thethoughtfultrain said

    Thanks Chitranmusi …

  7. beachbum said

    ROFL – That was hilarious! Came across your blog on Parul’s. Shall blogroll you.

  8. thethoughtfultrain said

    Hey BB! Thanks so much! 🙂 I m flattered ..

  9. So what if it is her car … she could have “obliged” to the demands of a child (with a lot of burden) …not fair … lol !!!

    • thethoughtfultrain said

      OMG and have me raised by some strange lady?
      ROFL over your comment!! I like the way your “kidneys” work – twisted humour!

Leave a Reply

