Aiming for the right words

June 7, 2009

I have always loved poetry. As a Literature student, it is my life’s major disappointments that poetry doesn’t come easy to me. Yet, I always persevere, hoping someday I will come up with something decent. In the mean time, I read other people’s poetry and of course the classics too. I like poetry which is simple and heart-to-heart. Recently I came across an amazingly easy technique to get started with the whole poetry thing. I take the liberty to explain in the same technique.

Learning Poetry

I am learning
to write poems.
This is a
technique I learnt.

Split a prose
into lines with
three or less
words.

Voila! A simple
thing to do
but lots of
fun too!

Well, I don’t expect you ll be impressed with my ditty. But it was successfully used in one of the classics. Here you go, see for yourself.

This Is Just to Say
I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold
William Carlos Williams     (1934)

Simple isnt it but oh so cute! And an easy way to start. Go on, try something and do post it in the comment section. I will be glad to see what you have come up with.

Happiness Always!


Leave a Reply

